top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Being Vegan: My Experience Thus Far



This month of May marks 5 months that I’ve been a #vegetarian and I’m still learning as I go! My impression of this dietary lifestyle was naive at first. It wasn’t until I started doing the research that I discovered that I didn’t know much about #beingvegan. I decided to give it a try because I noticed how some foods make me feel and look. Now that I’m in my late twenties approaching 30; I want to maintain a healthy lifestyle that I will benefit from in my golden years. I thought that #beingvegan was simply cutting out meat, but I had no thought to milk, eggs, dairy, and other products that are either tested on animals or use animal dna in their manufacturing.

Now, I have to be real because I do miss meat. I miss PopEyes and bacon and cheeseburgers! I pass no judgment on meat-eaters, but since I’ve gotten serious about my #veganlifestyle, I’ve become more conscious of the animals that meat-production effects. Recently, I had the desire to make French Toast, but opted for a vegan alternative instead because I realized that I would need eggs to make the delicious recipe. I can’t find it in my heart to eat eggs anymore because I’d rather incubate the eggs so the chicks have a fighting chance. I feel like a child when I express this, but I think it speaks to how real being a #vegan has become for me.

Pesto Toast w/ a side of Quinoa

I use to think that I could never do it. I grew up on #soulfood and #KFC! Chicken, ham, turkey, pot roast, meat loaf, and so on were the main staples at family dinners and holiday meals. Just like my #locjourney, my #veganjourney has been a very educational learning experience that has challenged me in many ways. I took it slow at first cutting out all meat except for sushi and some fish (such as shrimp). I rarely eat seafood so I gave myself a pass whenever I did. This was my process. I’ve now reached the level

where I’ve cut those out of my diet completely. I’m also removing processed foods from my diet even if they don’t contain dairy or meat (such as chips, sweets, chocolates, etc). I drink coconut milk instead of whole milk and I’ve literally been living off of #tofu!


Rice & Beans w/ Turmeric Tofu

#Tofu is my new favorite food item that I can’t get enough of. Right now, I’m obsessing over #barbecuetofu. I can’t get enough of it. It tastes like legit barbecue chicken. I eat #tofu every week. When I first tried it in Brooklyn, it was bland and boring. But I looked up videos on #YouTube on how to make it right. it’s all about #seasoning. I use chopped chives, oregano, basil, cilantro, salt, and pepper. Sometimes I will season the #tofu with all of these seasonings or just a couple, but I always use salt and pepper. For #barbecuetofu, I add barbecue sauce when I’m done cooking the #tofu. Trust me, it tastes #AMAZING! If you’re new to #tofu then I recommend purchasing “Extra Firm Tofu”. It’s much easier to cook with; providing that slightly similar tender texture that is reminiscent of grilled chicken. I use #tofu in salads, pastas, and I make it in wraps and sandwiches as well!



Barbecue Tofu & Sweet Potatoe Fries

The main thing about #beingvegan is that it‘s my choice. I’m doing it because I decided to. There are many debates about whether or not #beingvegan is actually the ultimate healthy diet. I get a lot of protein from the #tofu that I eat in lieu of meat. But I also balance my diet with weekly exercise. At the end of the day, it’s up to each individual to decide how they will live their life. Right now, I’m enjoying my #veganjourney. It has opened my eyes to a lot of information and has changed my perspective. I’m not a radical #vegan that attends protests and throws red paint on anyone wearing real fur, but I’ve decided to opt for #veganalternatives. I want to live a more natural and organic #lifestyle that will elevate my #aesthetic.



Santé




19 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page