top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Lately...



It’s been awhile since my last post, but the time-off was necessary to plan and refocus on my own personal goals! I’m still working on a few things in order to improve my blog and YouTube channel. Both have gone through some changes as I continue to grow my reach and influence. Staying connected on social media is a vital part of this, yet sometimes, you just need time for yourself to be human in private. I don’t feel compelled to share every aspect of my life for the sake of a “like“ or “share“. There are only so many times you can share a #selfie! I knew that as I grow and mature, so will my brand and content. Bottom line: I just want to be real, authentic, and relatable.


For the past few months, I‘ve been in school studying my ass off. Right now, I’m about to complete my first term at WGU. I plan on sharing an honest review of my experience thus far. And I’ve also been working full-time while auditioning for theatre and film projects. I recently filmed a scene for a movie filmed here in The Burgh. I’m still hustling, but I’ve placed a greater demand on myself. I’m not settling for an opportunity anymore. I believe that as I take myself more seriously, others will as well. Acting isn’t a hobby for me. I received training to be a professional and I’ve been acting professionally ever since. I know my value and worth and I can’t continue to do the same things knowing that those “opportunities“ won’t get me closer to reaching my goals. When I was in my twenties, I was desperate for any opportunity to be seen regardless of if it paid or not. Now, I won’t perform for free and I turn down opportunities that are set below my standards. You can’t be what everyone wants you to be. I’m a performer and not a puppet. I’m also retaining relationships with the right people. Those who believe in my potential. Living in Pittsburgh has enabled me to receive grants for my craft as an artist. I’ve been able to meet local visionaries and to work on projects with other dreamers like myself. Pittsburgh is deeply invested in investing in their performers. I’m amazed at how much this city provides opportunities for local artists of every discipline to showcase their work.




As an artist, my mind is always racing. I’m juggling so many things and I have so many aspirations. I’ve been on this #journey for a long time, but I could never settle for anything less. The silver lining in all of this is the moment that every actor waits for. That moment that unlocks the door to all of your dreams being fulfilled. That breakthrough opportunity that just simply changes everything. I believe that it is real and that it is possible for those that don’t quit. If you quit, then you’ll never know. When that moment comes, I know that it will have been earned.

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to write about in this post, but it’s been so long since I’ve published one, I knew I had to write something! This may be the direction my content is going in (I can be random sometimes)! I hope that whatever I share will inspire you and give you fuel for your fire; elevating your #aesthetic.

Until Next Time,


Santé





10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page