top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Fasting



Fasting has become a mainstream trend in the wellness culture. It’s used as a means to regulate one’s weight while detoxing at the same time!
I have been fasting on and off for several years now. Every time I plan to fast, I learn something new about it that I didn’t realize before. It is definitely a process and a learning experience. The first time can be difficult as you’re discovering what does and doesn’t work for you.
Some people fast for spiritual reasons and I’m one of them. I fast as a Christian to humble myself before GOD in prayer. As a Christian, I’m showing GOD that I’m putting Him first. I deny myself those things that give comfort and pleasure. Others fast in order to stay fit. Some fast a few times every month or on occasion when they feel like it. I’m going to share a few types of fasting, medical facts, and some simple techniques that you can take into consideration if you are thinking about implementing it into your #aesthetic!

WATER FAST


This is a very strenuous type of fasting that consists solely upon drinking water. This isn’t a fast that you should do for a lengthy amount of time. This a type of fast that spiritual people do to cleanse themselves and to be more sensitive to the spirit realm. In Christianity, this kind of fasting is exclusively for when your situation is dire and you are seeking GOD to intervene on your behalf. Water fasting is congruent to what I like to call “Straight Fasting” where you go without food and water (fluids in general) entirely. Like Water fasting, this kind of fasting isn’t one that you would do for days or weeks. If you want to detox your body, especially if you are changing your diet, then I would recommend doing a water fast for a day then begin your new diet the following day. Again, “straight fasting” is severe. It is a medical suggestion that the human body can only survive 3 days without water and 3 weeks without food. These are general terms as we all know that everyone is different. Don’t act like you have something to prove by pushing your body to the limit; jeopardizing your health.

INTERMITTENT FAST


This form of fasting is actually a partial fast where you abstain from food for only half of the day. Or you can fast every other day over a period of time. This type of fasting has been compared to eating less. Both diets yielded the same results; enabling a person to lose weight without showing any significant difference between the two. I have done this kind of fasting in the past and I feel that this works best for me and my body. I don’t feel like I’m going to pass out or faint while fasting this way unlike water fasting. I tried water fasting and I was only able to go 24 hours. I’m glad that I did it because it was a learning lesson for me. I don’t take medication, but I do have an active metabolism. I had planned to water fast for 3 days, but on day 2, I felt dizzy. After praying about it I felt led to stop fasting that way. When I did an intermittent fast, I only ate bread such as whole wheat bread or pita bread (with olive oil), and drank water. I did this fast for a whole week. I would recommend this type of fasting if this is your first time fasting in general.

DANIEL FAST


This fast is based upon the biblical figure of the same name who was a prophet of GOD in The Old Testament. In actuality, this is not a “fast”, but more of a diet. It’s basically a vegetarian diet consisting of fruits and vegetables only; avoiding meats, sweets, dairy products, and alcohol (only drinking water). You can also eat wheat products, but abstain from seasonings that give added flavor to food. I did a Daniel fast a couple of years ago for the first time. I ate plain oatmeal for breakfast, had fruit as a snack, then I had veggies at night for dinner. I did this fast for about a week. While I was doing it, I discovered that people have created cook books and fanciful recipes that mimic vegetarian dishes. As a Christian, I think that these marketing gimmicks steal away from the true purpose of why Daniel and his friends chose to eat the way they did. It was all for the purpose of staying pure for GOD while the other young men were eating meals dedicated to pagan gods. In my mind, trying to make fasting more comfortable for you defeats the purpose entirely. Fasting as a Christian is about humbling yourself, not you feeling comfortable. I think if you want a healthier diet then you should definitely try the Daniel fast. As a believer, if you take medication but still want to fast as a way of becoming more intimate with GOD then the Daniel fast is a perfect fit for you!

According to lifehack.org, fasting speeds up metabolism, improves your eating patterns, improves your immune system, and your brain function among other things.
Healthline.com highlights that Intermittent fasting may have the ability of extending your lifespan; sharing that “studies in rats have shown that intermittent fasting extends lifespan (...) In one of them, rats that fasted every other day lived 83% longer than rats who weren't (...) Although this is far from being proven in humans, intermittent fasting has become very popular among the anti-aging crowd.”

FASTING ADVICE


If you’re a Christian, then I suggest praying before you decide to fast. This will reveal to you how and when or even if you should. Fasting for Faith and fasting for health are two separate things. Obviously, when you fast your body is benefiting from it either way, but fasting for health is solely about your well being and not a relationship with GOD. As a believer, you fast to get closer to GOD; putting Him first and denying yourself. I don’t fast all of time, but only when I feel led to; depending upon where I’m at in my relationship with The LORD. Right now, it looks like that I tend to do a fast at least once a year.

Take the time to consider your own body, your overall health, and if fasting is something that you would want to implement into your wellness #aesthetic and/or faith #aesthetic.



Once you decide whether or not to fast; reference your calendar to see when it would be the best time for you to try it out for size. If you live with or have supportive people that sincerely care about you; fill them in on your plan to fast so they are aware in advance. This will prevent awkward moments such as being invited out for dinner or someone offering you a cupcake.

Lastly, don’t overwhelm yourself! Enjoy the journey and the process. This is a learning experience as you will discover what works best for you. You will also become more in tune with your body; discovering what you can and can’t handle.



Santé



6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page