top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Home-Style Detox


Home is where the chill is

It’s easy to get caught up with life, so much so, that you burn yourself out ignoring the signs that you need to take a moment to relax and unwind. Spending some time in the comforts of home is a simple way to detox from the demands of everyday. Traveling is a blessing and a luxury that can also be stressful in and of itself. It’s been said that you need a vacation from your vacation because sometimes the planning, packing, and navigating can feel reminiscent of work. Here I break down how you can have a great day at home; relaxing and being productive all at the same time! 


But first, I would like to highlight the importance of “home”. To have a place that you come to at the end of the day to relax, unwind, and be yourself is of the utmost importance. This is what makes homelessness so devastating because it states the fact that someone doesn’t have a place to go where they can be safe. Home is also the number one place in the world where you should be able to be yourself! It’s human nature to behave a certain way when you’re around certain people; being professional at work or guarded when your around someone that makes you feel uncomfortable. At home, you have the freedom to be yourself without fear of judgement. The way you establish your home and how you decide to decorate every room also reveals your personality the same way your outfit choice for the day reveals your style. With these notions in mind I lay the foundation for this post in how you can detox from stress while having a productive day at home. It seems ironic to say relax and be productive in the same sentence because when you’re working your so productive that you need to chill, but personally the women in my family have a hard time staying still especially when we’re in the house! You can accomplish both and this how:



DON’T SET AN ALARM


You don’t have to rush to be anywhere and you have the entire day to chill at home so what’s the need of setting an alarm when you know you’re going to hit snooze a million times! Unbeknownst to you, your body may need the extra hours of sleep to give you added energy. Our bodies have a way of signaling us on when we need to rest and it’s time that we finally listen before we wonder “how did I get sick?”. Get up when you feel ready to and that’s how you’ll know that you have gotten enough sleep. I think this will be especially beneficial for anyone who has a hard time sleeping. This is a way to compensate for lack of sleep. 


GO WITH THE FLOW


Try not to rush through the day with a laundry list of things that you must tackle. Take your time by going through the motions. I like to approach a day like this by doing first what I feel up to doing. It also helps to space things out by doing one task then taking a break before starting another. This way you won’t feel overwhelmed as you go about the day casually! Days like these I reserve to continue studying French, work on my my guitar skills, and create graphics to promote my Blog. Maybe there’s a book you’d like to read, a language you want to learn, or you have emails that need to be addressed; either way take your time.


This is your day of rest to detox. Don’t feel pressured to have to accomplish every little thing before you can unwind. Sometimes I tend to do a few tasks during the day then before bed I finish whatever is left on my to-do list. As long as I accomplish all of my goals for the day then I am satisfied with how I spent it and that is what matters the most!


ME TIME


This can mean a lot of things for different people. You can pamper yourself with a mani or pedi, take a long soak in the bath using your favorite bath-bombs, or maybe there’s a new exercise routine you’d like to try. Whatever it may be I suggest that it is something that is gratifying and gives you pleasure. This is your day to chill out from whatever it is you’re working on or dealing with; you’re one glorious moment!



As a Christian, I like to have time set aside to spend with GOD in prayer and fellowship. This enables me to grow in my relationship with Him as He draws me closer to Him; filling me with His Word and encouraging me to continue to trust in Him! Checkout these links to my past posts on the perks of having some time to yourself, how I “meet with GOD”, and my workout routine: 

https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/me-myself-i-the-perks-of-being-alone


https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/~draw-near~


https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/work-it-out


I also like to pamper myself by putting together diys that naturally treat my skin such as an avocado mask:

https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/the-awesome-benefits-of-avocados


SPRING CLEANING

Use this opportunity to take care of those things around the house that you’ve been putting off! Truth be told: if you don’t do it now then it will never get done. This is the perfect time to organize your closet and drawers if you haven’t already; swapping long sleeved tops for cold-shoulder blouses and tanks.


If your wardrobe is up to par then consider finally taking the time to toss out those unwanted items that are taking up space (and cluttering a room). If you have items that are still in good shape but you don’t want them anymore then I suggest setting them aside to give away to your local Goodwill. You can also try selling them at your local vintage shop such as a Buffalo Exchange or Beacon’s Closet that pays cash for items (clothes, shoes, accessories) that they are interested in. My final suggestion is to attend to any household chores that need to be done such as sweeping/mopping, dusting, and any other cleaning tasks.


My opinion is that one should take care of what they are given especially if they want something better. If you can’t be responsible for what you already have why should you deserve to upgrade? Having a place of your own, your own home, is a luxury that can be taken for granted. Treat your place with some T.L.C by cleaning/tidying up. You’d be surprised how the atmosphere of a place changes when you reorganize and clean. Remember to take your time though and don’t feel overwhelmed. Play your favorite music/playlist as motivation to keep going with your task. I like to have music playing in the background when I do things around the house to keep me energized like I’m enjoying the music and the task at the same time! 


Finally, end the day with your choice of film that you can lay back and enjoy. I recommend a faithful favorite that won't let you down. Sometimes trying out new movies can be disappointing yet that is the blessing of Netflix; if you don't like it send it back. It's less of a disappointment as suppose to going out to the movie theater; wasting money on tickets, drinks, popcorn for a stupid movie. When you watch a film you're in the mood to get enthralled and captivated by the world of the story. A crappy movie hinders you from that and all you can think about is how dumb the film is. View the link below on some movies that have made my list of favorites concerning the "romantic" genre:

https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/for-the-romantics-my-top-10-films





I hope this post has inspired you as you look forward to your next day off or this upcoming weekend. Taking it easy doesn’t have to be boring. You can go with the flow and unwind at your own pace while being productive (without feeling lazy); thus a satisfying day! 



Santé 

16 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page