top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Less Is More!




It can become overwhelming to keep up with the latest skincare trends. It seems like there is a new product on the marketing every day that boasts of providing the results that one desires for perfect skin! But this may very well be a gimmick to get your money. Depending upon your skincare needs and concerns; some products may cause more harm than good. I’m in my late twenties; making choices concerning my overall health now so that my thirties, forties, fifties, and beyond will be the best that it can be. I have edited my #aesthetic drastically so that it suits my daily routine and needs. That being said, I would like for you to consider your #aesthetic. Maybe “less is more”. In this post I share a couple of ways that you can refine your skincare routine. The best part is that these simple tweaks are free!

FACE WASHING: WARM WATER


At first, the thought of only washing my face with water seemed unrealistic. Warm water just didn’t seem like enough to tend to my skincare needs (such as dark spots, pimples, and uneven skin tone). But after having a chitchat with my mom about how she only washes her face with water (occasionally using a facial scrub as a mask); I began to think about the products I was using. I had at the time 3-4 products that I used (half in the morning and the other half at night) to care for my face! These products were to exfoliate and moisturize, but it was becoming too much to keep up with (using all of the items on a daily basis). Prevention.com shares that “Most dermatologists agree that for those seeking a low-maintenance plan, using a cleanser at night and just water in the morning is a reasonable option.” The site also highlights that only washing your face with warm water gives your face a break from the overuse of products, you won’t risk over exfoliating which can dull your skin, and your face will retain more moisture! READ THE FULL ARTICLE HERE: “Here’s Why Your Skin Looks Better When You Stop Washing Your Face”

FEWER SHOWERS


Here me out now! There are benefits to showering less such as conserving water (and lowering your bill) to keeping your body moisturized through the natural oil production your body makes. I personally shower every 2 days if I’m not doing too much physical activity. If it’s hot and I’m out all day (causing me to sweat) then I will shower that night. I exercise at night after dinner (before bed). I do a lighter workout the day prior and a more rigorous routine the second night I plan to shower. I do this so that I won’t strip the oils from my body; preventing damage. Reader’s Digest outlines in an article 7 reasons to shower less often (such as improper towel drying, prevention of frizzy hair, water consumption, and not being as dirty as you may think)!

So with that in mind, consider your current skincare routine to see if less really is more!

Santé



8 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page