top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Naturally Natural.


As of lately, I have been on a rigorous pursuit to be #allnatural; embracing what GOD has given me! My teens and early twenties have been consumed with cosmetics and hair extensions as a way of searching for my identity in order to define my beauty. As I get older, I realize that I don't want to be dependent upon make up in order to feel confident, beautiful, and sexy. Since I've started my #locjourney (witnessing over the past 3 months my locs grow and thicken), I started to embrace my natural beauty and research ways to naturally clear up my skin, strengthen my nails, and to condition my hair. I have been utilizing these tricks for the past 3 months and have seen nothing but #results! And I would like to share these with you so you can begin to accept and appreciate your natural GOD-given beauty too!


PRODUCTS:

OLIVE OIL

Keep cuticles healthy and help them grow by soaking your nails in Olive Oil. “Because of the rich vitamin E Olive Oil contains, it is extremely moisturizing and easily absorbed, which makes it great for nail growth,” according to womenshealthmag.com

I do a combination of soaking my nails in Olive Oil/Vitamin E Oil/Coconut Oil and I drink 1-2 cups of 2% milk a day. Check out the pics below to see my radical nail growth!

Olive Oil applied to the skin as a moisturizer works to prevent the effects of aging by neutralizing the effects of free radicals! I mix Castor Oil with some Cocoa Butter and rub it on my face at night to moisturize my skin after exfoliating. You can do the same with Olive Oil!

COCONUT OIL

According to draxe.com, “(...)Rubbing the oil into cuticles helps keep germs at bay and will loosen up cuticles, making them easier to push back or cut.”

Leaf.tv highlights that “(...)The triglycerides in Coconut Oil help to keep moisture from escaping from the skin, which aids in retaining softness and suppleness.” Triglycerides are an ester formed from glycerol and three fatty acid groups. They are the main constituents of natural fats and oils as defined by The Oxford Dictionary.

CASTOR OIL

The fatty acids in Castor Oil reduces the appearance of wrinkles and fine lines.

“Castor Oil is a tasteless and odorless vegetable oil that is extracted by pressing of the seeds of the castor plant, scientifically known as Ricinus Communis. Castor seeds are rich in triglyceride(..)” shares organicfacts.net Just like Olive Oil, Coconut Oil, and Vitamin E Oil, Castor Oil is a great organic staple that moisturizes and conditions the skin; keeping it soft and smooth!

MILK


Milkfacts.info breaks down that “Milk is a good source of calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, selenium, and zinc(...)” These nutrients (along with the long list of other vitamins and minerals that it contains) all work together to give you radiant skin, healthy bones, and strong nails (just to name a few)! Milk rejuvenates your body inside and out; making it the go-to staple in anyone’s beauty regime. Milk is high in calcium which strengthens not only your nails, but also your bones, and teeth.

Since I’ve begun drinking milk on the regular, I have noticed that my nails have strengthened; giving me an all-natural “French manicure”. Bye bye “Sally Hansen Hard As Nails”! Save your $3 and purchase a half gallon of milk instead!


NAILS:

What- Vitamin E Oil, Olive Oil, Castor Oil, Milk


How- Add equal parts of each product in to a microwaveable bowl (2-3 tablespoons). I like to fill the bowl (not half way), but enough to where the oils will cover nails so they can soak properly. Heat oils for 2 minutes. Let bowl sit for 1 minute (it will be hot). Have a hand towel or roll of paper towels nearby to wipe off hands after soaking. Soak nails for 15-20 minutes. When it comes to Milk, drink 1-2 glasses a day. I recommend doing both of these tips to see rapid nail growth and strength!


HAIR:

What- Coconut Oil, Castor Oil, Vitamin E Oil


How- Measure out 2-3 tablespoons of both products into a microwaveable bowl. Heat oils for 2 minutes. Apply the hot oils to your scalp and hair. Place a shower cap over your hair to contain oils and wait for 15 minutes before rinsing. I like to do this before washing my hair; afterwards my hair smells #AMAZING!


SKIN:

What- Apple Cider Vinegar, Lemon Juice, Milk, Honey


How- Apply any of these products to your face to gain glowing skin and lighten dark marks/scars. ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar), is essentially apple juice with added yeast (which is fermentation) that turns the fruit sugar into alcohol and the bacteria turns the alcohol into acetic acid. This makes ACV a great all-natural toner; giving your face a natural glow while lightening dark spots and scars. Lemon Juice, like ACV, has acids that help to lighten skin and dark marks. When using ACV, dilute the product with water and when using Lemon Juice, cut the lemon(s) to squeeze out the juice. I like to pour the juice in to a travel size bottle for my convenience. Apply to your face for 10 minutes then rinse off with warm water. For information on why Honey is a great all-natural cleanser for your face, read this throwback #aesthetic post:

https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/pour-it-on-me-the-rewards-of-using-honey-as-a-face-wash



A couple of other staples that I have in my personal #aesthetic is to wear no make up when I'm in the house all day/running errands AND to shower every 2 days. No make up minimizes pores and enables the skin to naturally repair itself while showering less actually allows the oils in your skin to moisturize your body. Too much showering dries out your skin! Check out these articles that support my disposition:

AND REMEMBER...

Drink as much water as you can daily! Water helps to heal your body from the inside out. It's known that adults should drink 8 glasses of water a day, but not everyone consumes that much nor has time to. When I'm busy all day on the go, I barely eat! So I suggest drinking a couple of glasses in the morning and at night to stay hydrated and to give your overall body and skin some love. Another key to keep in mind is to drink water whenever you're hungry; especially if you're still hungry after eating. Hunger pains and dehydration give us the same feeling; causing many to think they're still hungry when their body is actually asking for water.


SOURCES:





FOR MORE DIYS & LIFEHACKS, CHECK OUT THESE AESTHETIC POSTS:


https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/for-the-love-of-olive-oil


https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/apple-cider-vinegar


https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/makeup-or-no-makeup-that-is-the-question


https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/age_gracefully





Sante


35 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page