top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

#Random Rant



Today's post is going to be a mashup of several topics consisting of a makeup review, natural way to lighten black heads, and self-marketing in 2018. These are some topics on my mind at the moment and somehow in someway I hope that you can glean from what I have to share. When you're a blogger, you have to get creative!


Maybelline:


I just purchased Maybelline's "Super Stay Matte Ink" which is one of their newly released products. I came across it while browsing the aisles of Ulta Beauty and ended up purchasing it at Target where it was slightly cheaper. I wanted a bold color that I don't already have in my artillery of makeup; so I went with color 90: Huntress. This is the same color model Gigi Hadid is rocking in the ad.


When I applied the color to my lips (without any foundation on) I could see the potential! My favorite part about this product is its unique application tip and how it is designed; allowing the color to go on smoothly without having to use your finger or a tissue to clean up around your lips. It was quick, effortless, and with it being "Matte Ink" the color doesn't budge! This product is your go-to for when you're out on the go all day especially for a long night out on the town. I wiped my lips with a tissue then I had to apply Carmex to my lips to loosen up the Matte Ink (so I could wipe my lips again) in order to remove all of the color stain. For $7.99, it's worth the buy and I'm looking forward to getting a couple of more in various shades to add to my lip collection.



Lemon Juice:

This is something that I am trying to make a habit, especially during my #nightimeroutine. Lemons contain a plethora of vitamins and minerals including the essential vitamin C that supports your immune system to function properly and giving you healthy skin. The citric acid in lemons is a natural skin lightening agent that can fade dark marks and other marks on the skin such as freckles. I cut my lemon into slices and squeeze two of them into a plastic container. Then I will either use a tissue to dab into the juice and apply it to any dark marks on my face (as well as dark circles under my eyes). Another method I use is pouring the lemon juice into the palm of my right hand and rubbing it on my face. Be sure to avoid your eyes! In both cases I let the juice set on my face for 5 minutes before washing it off. While I'm waiting for the lemon juice to soak into my pores, I will brush and floss my teeth, then prepare to rinse my face from the lemon juice. I do this process last after cleansing my face at night. With consistency, results will follow. I just have to remember to do it every night before I go to bed! But overall, it is a cheaper and natural way to fight black heads or unwanted dark marks on the face as well as lightening the appearance of "raccoon eyes".

For more info on ways to apply lemons to your #aesthetic, check out my past post:

https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/lemon-water-detox



Millennial Marketing:



This concept has been on my mind lately as I continue to move forward with my blog and business; searching for creative and innovative ways to take it to the next level in order to attract a wider audience. As of today, anyone can get on a laptop or even more conveniently their smartphone, and promote their idea to the world. Two minds are always better than one and you can get burnt out easily as projects/ideas begin to grow demanding that you engage with others to share the load. Yet, gone are the days of needing to hire a company to help market your brand. I get random people trying to get me to pay them to take my brand to a larger audience, but it's not necessary. I'm excited to see AESTHETIC rise on its own from the bottom to the top. I launched in November 2017, just 6 months ago, and I have had good reception from simply posting on my social media platforms; engaging people in a way that causes them to want to know more. AESTHETIC is my baby, what I can call "mine", but I know that when it picks up more traction that it will force me to have to acquire the help of talented bloggers to contribute their #aesthetic; thus enabling me to not become overwhelmed with keeping up with the blog and managing life at the same time. I look forward to the day!


Technology has its up and downs, but ultimately I like having the ability to design my own graphics and publish my posts on my social media without relying on someone else to attempt to understand the vision that I have for my brand. I've heard it more than once, that we #millennials, are branching out in an effort to establish our own way by becoming entrepreneurs. Anything worth having is worth the wait and the payoff is more gratifying when you look back in retrospect seeing how far you have come. It would be easy to pay for subscribers and followers, but I want my subscribers and followers to be genuine (that they have a pure interest in what AESTHETIC has to offer them). I continue to post and publish because I can see AESTHETIC blowing up and I look forward to new subscribers reading past posts in the archives from when I first began; appreciating each post and gleaning from every topic. Self-marketing has caused my following on Instagram to grow rapidly before my eyes. When I started my new Instagram profile I remember having less than 70 people. I have witnessed it grow from 30 to 40 to 50 to 60 to 100 to where I am at right now at an average of 150. This is all over the course of 6 months since launching. A main factor to any endeavor is your connections and networking. As I continue to meet new people and make these vital connections then the doors will open up attracting a wider audience; enabling me to acquire more loyal subscribers. I'm not about the numbers, but it's very encouraging to me to see the progress; slowly but surely!

For more pearls of wisdom on launching your own business, check out my post from January:

https://mariahfranklin19.wixsite.com/aesthetic/my-aesthetic/so-you-want-to-start-a-business


Business cards that I designed thanks to canva.com


Until next time,

Sante

10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page