top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Selfie Satisfaction



I can remember taking my own pictures as early as ninth or tenth grade (i.e. 2005-2006). I had a digital camera and although I couldn’t see myself or how I looked prior to taking the shot; I was still able to capture a decent photo. I’m sure others were doing this too (possibly even you), but we didn’t know then to call the action “a selfie”.
Selfies are at the epicenter of #socialmedia! They have iconically dominated the human psyche for at least the past decade. Selfies have a special place in 21-Century Pop Culture. This has had me thinking about the pros and cons of this seemingly innocent action that everyone has done at least once (even the shyest and modest of folks). I also want to share a few tips that I use; enabling you to capture your perfect #selfie!

PROS:


We’ll get into some cons of #selfies and how it can have a negative effect on a person. But I do feel that with a healthy mentality there can be beneficial pros. As a model, occasionally snapping selfies of myself helps as I practice poses and angles. It enables me to see what’s most flattering for me verses poses that aren’t as attractive. I can’t stand it when I take a picture that isn’t up-to-par with how I view myself. I feel that practice makes perfect. I now know how to tilt my head just right and which side is actually my good side whenever I take a photo!

Shape.com highlighted in an article from 2016 that “Researchers from the University of California, Irvine worked with a group of college students to figure out how snapping different types of pictures throughout the day on their smartphones influenced their moods.” The article shares more about the study revealing that “Each type of photo produced different effects by the end of the three-week research period. People felt reflective and mindful when they took pics to make themselves happy. And they felt more confident and comfortable with themselves when they took smiley selfies.”


READ THE FULL ARTICLE HERE:

CONS:


The downside to #selfies is that it could possibly lead to an unhealthy perspective on one’s appearance; constantly comparing themself to others. #Selfies are also linked to obsession and depression for more serious cases. I’ve noticed that I get more likes and comments on social media if I post a selfie compared to posting about a blog post or anything else that I deem important. This is the society that we live in where the general public (as a whole) cares more about appearances than anything else; putting pressure on people to try to live up to those superficial standards of perfection. Lifehack.org shares 5 reasons why #selfies are harmful including “privacy risks”, “damaging real relationships”, “and selfies becoming an addiction” (to name a few). The article also shares the story of a young man who almost took his own life over not being able to nail the perfect #selfie.


READ THE ARTICLE HERE:


Knowing some of the pros and cons of #selfies reveals overall that we have to be mindful of how often we partake in the act. I believe that it takes a balance of knowing who you and being confident in your own skin to not succumb to the pressures of society. Stay true to who you are and know when it’s time to unplug; taking a break from social media to stay in touch with the real world that surrounds you. Everyone posts what they want people to see and not everything else that may be going on #bts.

TIPS:


Here’s a few tips to keep in mind next time you snap a shot of yourself; making your #selfie an insta-hit!

Look The Part


Yes, it’s just a selfie, but that doesn’t mean you have to look like you just got out of bed or haven’t showered in a week! Comb your hair, wash your face, add a little concealer, some lipstick, and put on a top that you feel attractive yet comfortable in. It shows either in a picture or in person that you don’t feel comfortable or are trying to be something that your not! This is also a picture that potentially the world may see on your social media platforms. This means that your employer or potential employers may (and probably will) come across it. You want to look your best and be yourself.





Lighting


Natural light is the best but depending on the weather, the time of day, or where you’re at (either inside or outside); this may not be available to you. Make sure you have ample lighting so that your image will be seen clearly in the photo. You don’t want to over do it by shining too much light on you; casting glares and shadows. The ceiling light from the room you’re in should be enough for you to take your perfect selfie. You don’t have to have fancy camera or photography lights to get the job done.


Show Your Good Side


Which side of your face do you feel is more flattering to your overall appearance? That is the side you show when facing the camera to take your #selfie! I pose showing my left side, but lately I have been switching it up; showing my right side (especially if I choose to #smile). I have a missing tooth (it was a baby tooth and I didn’t know that until it fell out)! But when I smile turning my head to the left (showing the right side of my face) you’d never know. You want your picture to look great and to show your true self.






Strike A Pose


So with all that being said; don’t be shy! Have fun and be playful. Don’t think too hard about where you should look.

I do suggest looking at the top of your phone if you have an #iphone. This way it looks like you’re looking back at the person or people who will view your pic.



You can take as many or as little shots as you want. You’re the photographer; working on your time. I like to take at least ten shots back to back switching poses. You won’t end up liking them all. There should be at least 2-5 that you like out of all the shots you have taken. I also recommend using the timer setting on your phone. This gives you a countdown so you have time to readjust your pose. Or you can use a selfie-stick/tripod to set your phone on (then start the timer); making the session hands-free!




Sante



4 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page