top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Simple Snacks



I've been working part-time at a women and children's shelter; having overnight shifts at times. It can be a little challenging to maintain a healthy diet when you have to stay up all night as you work your shift. It's even more difficult when you're covering shifts that aren't yours. It has felt like my whole schedule is a little out of wack. Last week I only got four hours of sleep before I had to get back up and go to work again. I enjoy the job and the woman and children that I get to interact with, but nevertheless I have put my body (and my diet) on a bit of a roller coaster ride!

While I'm working overnight, I get hungry and I want to snack on something. I have a horrible sweet-tooth and constantly desire something that will satisfy that craving (preferably chocolate). I recently did a post on my thoughts of becoming #vegan as well as covering the debate between being a #vegetarian and eating meat. I've thought about it and have wrestled with it; ultimately deciding to give it a go! I just started literally yesterday (12/4/19). My main motivation is that it will clear up my skin from the inside out. I enjoy eating meat, but sometimes it can be too much (when you take a step back; looking at what you're eating and how often).


I will still eat #sushi because that's my absolute favorite food, but I don't eat it as often. When I do have #sushi, it becomes a special moment for me (not that the moment is special like an event or occasion) because #sushi isn't something that you can eat everyday. I read that #sushi is one of those foods that isn't good for your skin so it's suggested to not over do it. That being said, I will have it from time to time. So I think that I can still consider myself to be #vegan. Yet, this has caused me to reevaluate my diet and what I'm purchasing from the grocery store. Last night, I made a list for my next grocery store run consisting of items that will supplement my new #vegandiet. I broke it down by dishes; placing the items together that will be needed to make that particular dish (such as kale salad).


This has inspired me to share with you a few snack suggestions that you can keep in mind if you have to work overnight at your job or even if you will be traveling overnight for the holiday season. These suggestions are healthy options that shouldn't irritate your stomach and skin as you enjoy them after hours.


Fruit



I like to have honeydew, cantaloupe, strawberries, seedless grapes, bananas, and blueberries. These are my favorite fruits that I incorporate into my diet. Fruit is the best thing that you can snack on during the night when you have to work and/or travel. The natural nutrients that they provide are what makes them the best go-to snack to have at the ready. You won't feel any side effects from eating them overnight (especially if you're not used to staying up late for your job or you stop eating at a particular time of the day such as before 7).

Veggies



I enjoy eating brussel sprouts, carrots, spinach, kale, onions, and peppers just to name a few. I generally like to saute my vegetables adding a dash of salt and pepper to flavor. When you're on-the-go during the night you can simply have your veggies raw or you can drizzle them in olive oil with a little bit of salt and pepper to give it taste. You could also put your favorite veggies together making a salad. Or you can enjoy your favorite veggies dipped in hummus.


What To Avoid



Personally, I would avoid dairy products such as yogurt, pudding, cheese products, and anything similar because of how late it would be when you actually have the snack. I've realized that as I get older, I have to be careful about what I eat and when. We're not as young as we used to be and our bodies are changing; giving us subtle cues that we need to pay attention to. I also recommend that you resist eating a heavy meal like a cheeseburger or pasta with lots of sauce. That's just asking for a stomach ache and a long stay in the bathroom.


These #simplesnacks are easy solutions for you to enjoy when you have to pull an all-nighter for whatever reason. They are healthy options that will also satisfy you; taking your #wellness to the next level!



Sante



5 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page