top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

Bon Appetit!




I toy with the thought of becoming a #vegan. I want to make the best choices concerning my overall well being. When it comes to my general diet, I am a “meat-eater”, but I discipline myself on how often I eat meat and when. If I have meat in my meal for breakfast then I choose not to have meat in my meal for dinner. Rarely do I ever have “lunch”, but rather a light “snack” if I’m really hungry. The moment I think that I’d like to go all the way and try to become a vegan, I get tempted. I was once told by a health professional that it takes 2 weeks of consistently doing something for it to become a habit. I’ve been eating meat since I was able to chew food! Fried chicken was the main meat of choice when it came to family dinners. And don’t get me started on #bacon. Bacon is my jam! But, a part of me still wants to take the leap to cut meat out of my diet completely.


I think a part of me slightly resists because groceries can be expensive in general, but especially when you become “health conscious”. I don’t know if it’s a marketing gimmick, but everything that seems to be organic and healthy for you tends to be the most expensive item in the grocery store! Although I eat meat from time to time, I still implement fruits and vegetables into my diet; making sure that I’m getting the nutrients my body needs to stay strong. I can’t go a week without having some type of fruit or vegetables. I enjoy apples, blueberries, cantaloupe, honeydew, strawberries, and on occasion bananas. When it comes to vegetables, I enjoy cooking brussel sprouts. I also like broccoli, kale, spinach, carrots, and cauliflower.

But I wanted to know more of why some people choose to live a “vegan lifestyle” and why others are team “meat-eater”. I’ve come across supporters from both sides touting that their disposition is the healthiest choice and the way to go. I did a little research and here are a few things that I discovered.




 


VEGETARIANS


According to vegetariantimes.com, being a #vegetarian has many benefits such as “warding off disease”, “building strong bones”, “giving you more energy”, “reducing pollution”, and the obvious reason: “preserving the lives of animals”! The site also shares that being vegetarian enables you to keep your weight down; stating that “According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and a division of the CDC, the National Center for Health Statistics, 64 percent of adults and 15 percent of children aged 6 to 19 are overweight and are at risk of weight-related ailments including heart disease, stroke and diabetes. A study conducted from 1986 to 1992 by Dean Ornish, MD, president and director of the Preventive Medicine Research Institute in Sausalito, California, found that overweight people who followed a low-fat, vegetarian diet lost an average of 24 pounds in the first year and kept off that weight 5 years later. They lost the weight without counting calories or carbs and without measuring portions or feeling hungry.”

Read the full post here:

I think this study alone has convinced me to give it a go, but let’s see what some of the cons are as well...

Self.com interviewed Nancy Rodriguez (professor of nutritional science at the University of Connecticut) for an article concerning the pros and cons of being a vegetarian. Concerning the “cons”, Rodriguez shared that “(...) calcium, omega-3 fatty acids, vitamin B-12 and folate—all of which are present in meat and dairy—as key nutrients a vegan diet can lack. Over time, inadequate consumption of these can result in a host of problems, including loss of bone and muscle mass.”



 


MEAT-EATERS


In an article on webmd.com, it is noted that “Red meat is high in iron, something many teenage girls and women in their childbearing years are lacking. The heme iron in red meat is easily absorbed by the body. Red meat also supplies vitamin B12, which helps make DNA and keeps nerve and red blood cells healthy, and zinc, which keeps the immune system working properly. Red meat provides protein, which helps build bones and muscles.” The article further shares input from Christine Rosenbloom, PhD, RD, a nutrition professor at Georgia State University. She states that “People don’t need to give up red meat. They need to make better selections in the type of meat they eat and the portions.”


In a post by Jessica Bruso for Livestrong.com, she suggests (from her research) that people “Choose skinless poultry and fish more often than red meat. The more often you eat red or processed meats, the higher your risk for diabetes and heart disease, according to a study published in "Current Atherosclerosis Reports" in December 2012. Another study, published in "PLOS Medicine" in December 2007, found that increasing your intake of red and processed meats was associated with a higher risk for lung and colon cancer.”

Overall, it comes down to your lifestyle, beliefs, and whether or not you are eating more calories than you burn off. I think it’s safe to say that eating solely red meat (or meat in general) is an obvious health-risk! Maintaining a balanced diet of meat, fruits, vegetables, and grains ensures that your body is receiving the nutrients it demands to stay strong. I pass no judgment on anyone that is vegan or that enjoys eating meat! But I do hope that sharing some research and facts will help people on either side to consider their diet. As for me, I’m still on the fence. I have the feeling that my diet is what’s best for me. I have gone weeks without eating any meat products, yet once in a while I enjoy an egg, sausage (or bacon), and cheese croissant for breakfast! I exercise 4-5 times a week for 15-45 minutes. I also walk a lot while running errands from time to time ! So like I mentioned before, take your lifestyle into consideration first and foremost. Use this post as a guide and also check out the articles I referenced for further insight and consideration; elevating your #aesthetic!

YUMMY RECIPE RECOMMENDATIONS:

VEGAN


MEAT-EATERS



Santé



12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page