top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Franklin

The Art of Me




Lately, I've been focused on appreciating my natural beauty; avoiding products that conceal or cover up my true self. I have posts and videos on this blog and my YouTube Channel about wigs, make up, and press-on nails; all things that I enjoy playing with (in an effort to switch up my look). Yet, since I have been growing my locs, it has opened my eyes to the truth of who I am. I use to hide behind all of those things that I listed above as a way of identifying myself as beautiful. I was a product of the culture that I grew up in (i.e. America). We are shown and told what beauty is as if there's only one type of beautiful. The pressure that is placed upon young girls at such an early age is ridiculous! It's quite refreshing to be alive right now where people are taking a stand to break the mold. Plus size and petite size models are making their voices known. Actors/actresses are being true to themselves and not letting their agents, managers, or casting directors conform them into something that they feel society wants.


When I was a teenager, I thought I knew who I was. I had no idea that I would grow so much and become better than I ever was. I feel so comfortable in my skin-FINALLY; after years of feeling inadequate and awkward. I thought that I had to look a particular way to be considered attractive or beautiful. I have discovered on my own that GOD gave me what I needed. The wigs were fun to play with and to see how I'd look with a different hairstyle, but they never lasted long. Neither did the make up or the nails. Don't get me wrong, I still wear make up and enjoy doing my own nails from time to time, but I'm not dependent upon them any longer. These things don't define my beauty! I have stopped wearing wigs as I have fallen in love with my #naturalhair! I don't ever want to hide my crown. For years I have struggled to find a natural hairstyle that worked for me. I wanted to retain growth and not have to keep my hair short.


But, I suppose that's what so intriguing about #life. We go through a series of events and experiences that end up shaping and/or defining who we are. We don't foresee some of these events, but we appreciate them when they come along (the good ones that is). Sometimes I wonder why I didn't loc my hair years ago. Back then I wasn't educated about the hairstyle and had no interest. Me in my early twenties would be shocked if someone told me that by the time I turned 27, I would have locs! My point in sharing all of this is that sometimes we have to take a journey in order to appreciate who we are, how we look, and what we have! I have seen countless Sci-Fi episodes where the main character wanted a different life. When they got it (through supernatural means...), they were wishing for their old life by the end of the episode! The grass wasn't greener on the other side (it was actually full of weeds).


I'll be turning 28 next month and I feel that I have a sense of self. I'm comfortable in my skin and I'm finally able to appreciate my natural beauty. I'm not dependent upon the assistance of man-made products to enhance my features. I believe that obtaining a healthy balance of dolling yourself up (one day) and going all natural (the next day) will pave the way for a healthy perspective of how you see yourself. I understand that at times, make up can be a game-changing life saver; especially when it comes to skin flaws. I suggest that you take action when comes to caring for your skin. Don't just hide your insecurities under a mask of make up day after day. Find a solution that works with your #aesthetic in order to clear up any unwanted blemishes. Trust me, it will take time and it won't be cured overnight, but your future-self will thank you for making the investment!




I hope that these words have got you thinking about how you see yourself and that they will challenge you to appreciate who GOD created you to be. He made no mistake when He made you. It's easy for us to put ourselves down by picking and prodding at what we don't like about ourselves. Yet, when will you ever be satisfied with who you are? This question forced me to focus on what I like about myself; finally seeing that I'm a woman of value that has so much to offer! I'm beautiful, confident, funny, loving, giving, and humble; even with my love handles, dark spots, scars, blemishes, and a missing tooth.


This is the Art of Me.




Check out these AESTHETIC Posts on ways to embrace your #naturalbeauty!







Sante

6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page